The Swindon & Cricklade Railway's Vintage Train Project
Cambrian Railways 1st/2nd composite No 110
Believed to be the only Cambrian Railways carriage being actively restored for passenger service on a heritage railway.

Background The Cambrian Railways Company was one of the smaller pre-grouping railway companies. Itself the amalgamation of five minor concerns, it served mid-Wales and a stretch of the Welsh coast. It was taken over by the GWR in 1922.
      Towards the end of the 1800s it realised that the growing ‘tourist’ industry offered a realistic opportunity for survival. The railway’s ‘home’ area had very little in the way of heavy industry, and, unlike South Wales, no indigenous coal traffic. Domestic traffic was never really significant. But it could offer wonderful beaches and superb mountain scenery.
Cambrian coach No 110 arrives at Blunsdon
No 110 arrives at the Swindon & Cricklade Railway from Hayle in Cornwall
Completion of frame
Members of the Vintage Train team allow themselves a small celebration on completion of new panelling on one side of Cambrian No 110.
Re-hung luggage compartment doors
Both sets of luggage compartment doors have been re-hung
Fitting new mouldings
Test fitting the first of the new external mouldings.
Carriage
No 110
Carriage No 110 is a six-wheeled First/Second class semi-corridor lavatory composite with a separate luggage compartment. It operated as a through carriage between London and the Welsh coast, being worked as part of a GWR or L&NWR train before being attached to a Cambrian Railways train for the last part of the journey. Its arrangements meant that passengers would arrive with their luggage in the same vehicle, regardless of being shunted from train to train in the course of their journey.
      No 110 is believed to be unique in preservation. Built in 1894, it is probably amongst the last ‘prestige’ six-wheel stock built for the Cambrian. Two years later, the company was building bogie coaches for its Through Carriage services.
Subsequent life Once sold out of railway service, No 110 was converted, as a ‘grounded’ body, into a holiday home at Hayle in Cornwall in 1934, and fell out of use around 2000.
      In this latter, abandoned, state it was heavily attacked by wet and dry rot but, with the basic structure largely intact, and in view of its unique status, it was felt to be well worth saving.
At the railway Initial work concentrated on removing all rotten and diseased timber and applying preservatives. This left a largely empty shell with no roof, areas of floor missing and some main timbers to be replaced.
As at April 2014. To date, all the floors and partitions have been completed, the frames for the internal corridor walls errected and seat bases installed. This included turning all the new legs required. New panelling has been completed on one side and both ends. Both sets of luggage compartment doors have been re-hung, and work is ongoing to re-hand the passenger doors.
      Work is advancing on the exterior mouldings, with initial sections test-fitted. When these are completed, using some of the original work still in place as a reference, the same excercise will be repeated on the other side.
      All the new boards required for the roof have been purchased. These will be stored for a few months before work starts later in the year.
      The search for a suitable six-wheel underframe continues, with a number of possibilities being explored. It is believed that the matter will be resolved this year.
S&CR
main page
Project
main page
Cambrian
No 110
Toplight
No 7545
N London
No 111
Taff Vale
No 73
Brake
No 422
Links
page

Write to us